Off and Away

In the morning I’ll clock in at Children’s for the last time. The memories I have as a patient in Clinic 5 (now Clinic 8) and 4 Tower are priceless, precious and irreplaceable. My time spent working on 4 Tower and 8 Quarterback have meant even more to me. I have grown exponentially as a person, and I cannot wrap my mind around the truth that it is time to move on.
12 years.
How do you say goodbye to a place that has been home for 12 years?
I guess it isn’t so much the place as it is the people. Some people that I now call coworkers and friends were once my caregivers. They have known me for almost half of my life and have seen me through some of my hardest times. They’ve cried with me and celebrated with me. Even those that I’ve known for only a short time have become family. We support each other. We have to in order to sustain ourselves in this profession.
I am in awe of the kindness, generosity and genuine love that I continually receive from my work family. Today I sat at a table surrounded by my friends, some of whom drove to work on their day off just to say goodbye and to celebrate with me.
I couldn’t have asked for a better group of people to share the last three years of my life with. You have blessed me in ways you’ll never know and have sustained me during times when I thought I couldn’t go on. 
I look forward to what God has for me next. This is not “goodbye” and not even “see you later”, because although I’m leaving, I’ll be carrying with me all that you’ve taught and poured into me during this time. You’re a part of me now and forever.
Thanks for the memories, my friends.

image

One thought on “Off and Away

  1. I can completely sympathize with this post. I will be leaving Children’s on Jan 1st. It has been a long 18 years that I have spent there at Children’s from my days spent in Clinic 5 getting chemo to my days as a nurse on BMTU to my days as a NP on 4T/8QB. I may not know what to do with myself. I know it will involve a lot of tears. Good luck on your future endeavors!

Leave a Reply

